Well, the dreaded hard drive crash diagnosis email arrived tonight…and boy is it a doozie. The initial estimate is 1400 euros…

Let’s play a game I like to call “Add 30%, Baby!”

1400 euros is roughly $1900. Holy crap is that a lot of money. So, I signed the little paper they sent to me and emailed it back…in hopes of an “85%” recovery. I know they have to be pessimistic to cover their own butts…they can’t exactly offer me the world, but man…my brain is going a mile a minute trying to figure out which 15% I might lose….

If I lose 15% of my photos, I will cry. Hell, I’ve already cried…that’s what happens when you get an email asking for $2000 before they start working on recovering your precious memories.

Without that EHD, I’m stuck. All my design tools, all my photos….everything is on that EHD. I feel like a part of me has gone missing. I’ll gladly pay the ransom, but, boy, has this been a tough lesson to learn. I will say it again…only this time I have a diagnostic estimate that still stings and it forces me to say it harshly:

IF YOU DO NOT BACK UP TO AN EXTERNAL SOURCE, YOU ARE A DUMB DUMB DUMMY HEAD AND YOU REEK OF ASPARAGUS AND YOUR BRAIN HAS TURNED TO MUSH. YOU ARE DESTINED TO A LIFE OF WORRY AND GRIEF AND EMAILS CONTAINING ESTIMATES OF BLASPHEMOUSLY LARGE PROPORTION. BACK UP NOW. DO IT. NOW. DUDE.

Ok, that is all.

Oh, and here’s another layout. hee hee….

19.jpg

My dear friend, Liz, is going to be the featured designer at Oscraps.com from August 15-30th. She is giving away this amazing free kit, Park Avenue. I added the flowers and alpha stamps from Shabby Miss Jenn, but the rest of the goodies are hers. Talk about an amazing sense of color and style. Her designs are the ultimate in sophistication. Be sure to sign up for the newsletter at Oscraps. And if you’d like to keep tabs on Liz and her designs, check out her blog (www.paisleepress.blogspot.com)

