Still going strong with vegan…It’s only been 2 days. So, it’s not not I’m going to get a trophy or anything. It’s an accomplishment, though! And I’ll gladly pose with an old bowling or tennis trophy…ya know, if you have no use for it anymore. 🙂 Yesterday for lunch, we had that lovely little warm salad and stuffing. Last night we had 15 bean soup and this morning, for breakfast, I had oatmeal with fresh peaches and English muffins (toasties) with raspberry jam. 🙂 Actually, this morning I woke up at 8 to the sound of my husband coming in from shopping. He had taken the baby. This is an unheard of feat around here..like the children actually washing their hands after they pee without vigilant supervision. So, imagine my surprise when he also surprised me with oatmeal topped with fresh peaches. This is only more magnified by the fact that he and the kids were having bacon and eggs. He made me an entirely separate breakfast. 🙂 Happy girl.

On a completely unrelated note, I feel so badly about Lara’s schooling…it’s not really our fault, but she never had a “first day of kindergarten” like the kiddos do in the States. And now, we’re in the middle of moving to England and she may have to start school here only to be pulled out when we move…it may be as little as a week. Isn’t that sad? It may not seem like a big deal, but there are just certain aspects of a “normal” childhood that I want to uphold. Having her safely and happily in school is one of those wishes. I know she’s young and that she’ll adjust, but let’s face it. I’m a big sap and I want them to have some semblance of normalcy. This is all magnified by the fact that Lara missed her first year of school “American kindergarten” because they don’t start school here in Germany til they’re 6. But in England, the children start school at 5. Great. So not only will she not start on time, she’ll be behind a bit. It really bothers me for some reason. So, it’s not even 9:30 am and I’ve already spent over $70…but I promise I did it for a good cause! Remember this chick from yesterday? Well, she kindly let me know that a bag I have been drooling over was still available! It’s not for me, though…it’s for Lara Lu. :0) I wanted to really celebrate her first day of school and make her feel special. And when she saw this bag a few days ago, she said “Mommy, can we please buy that? It’s so cute.” So, this morning, it’s officially ours. :0) Wanna see it?

panda_school_bag_3.jpg

Isn’t it darling?!??! Completely handmade…wow. I secretly envy those who can envision something like this and then actually use their own two hands to create it. That blows me away. :0) Thank you, Lisa!

In other completely unrelated stuff, I have a new favorite band. It’s a bit offbeat, but that’s what I like about it. I can’t even really describe it. How about…

Stevie Nicks + Fiona Apple + Dixie Chicks on Tylenol PM + non-annoying Bjork

eisley.jpgYeah….that about sums them up. 🙂 Anyway, if you’re interested, check out Eisley.com. My favorite songs on their album “Room Noises” are Memories, Telescope Eyes, and Marvelous Things. They really are amazing. If anyone knows me, they know I sing….all the time. I love ballads and slow songs and love songs and rock songs. I just plain love to sing. And it makes it even better if the song is dreamy and fantastical. 🙂 Anyway…enough about that. You’ll just have to listen to them to understand. I feel like I’m in a modern fairytale when I listen to them sing. 🙂 Ok…really, I’ll stop now.

How about a layout? :0) I made this last night and I really like the way it turned out….kinda different for me. I’m not sure how it’s different…but it just feels different. I just love this kit by Gina Cabrera…”Bit ‘O Spunk“. It really is beautiful and it has my favorite color…this corally-orangey-red.. LOVE THAT!

30.jpg

CREDITS

So, that’s about it for this morning. The girls have a playdate at a friend’s house today. I’m not sure what else we’ve got planned. I’m sure it involves lots of tape and packing and bubble wrap. I can just feel the excitement rising…oh wait…umm…never mind. It was just a migraine. ;0)

