a conversation that started mere minutes after I dragged myself out of bed:

Lara: How do the mice help the people make the cheese, Mommy?

Me: huh? snort yawn…stretch…

Lara: The holes in the cheese. In the white cheese. How do the mice do it? Do they work with the people in the cheese factory?

Me: Oh yeah….yeah, I guess so.

Lara: But how Mommy?

Me: Well, cuz they’re magic mice, baby.

Lara: aaaahhhhhh. But they don’t poop in the cheese, right?

…at this point, I had to rewind and tell her the truth. That is, after I stopped laughing.

Lara thinks I know everything. Do you know how cool that is? When I brush her hair, she likes to pass the time by asking me all sorts of things: Where do babies come from? How do we get paper? How do the flowers know when to grow? How do worms move through the ground? The fact that I can answer her is what I think is cool. However some of them (like, where do babies come from?) I’ll dodge for now. I’ll tell her someday, but I don’t think she needs to know that kind of stuff when she’s 6. πŸ™‚ I just tell her it’s an adult thing and that I’ll tell her when she’s older. She seems to be satisfied with that and then she promptly busies herself with her own fantastical little conjectures.

26feb200801.jpg

Then on the way to school she was asking me about all the technical details and hurdles that plague the tooth fairy. At on point she asked, “Mommy, where does the tooth fairy keep her teeth?” And I promptly replied, “In her mouth, of course.” That threw Lara into such a fit of giggles that we had to stop so she could recover. She is such a fun person to hang around and she’s becoming quite the little lady. πŸ™‚

I tried taking some more photos yesterday…just walking around my house, looking for little vignettes to capture. These are all straight out of the camera…no tweaking, no fussing.

noodle during her nap yesterday

26feb200802.jpg

mia’s favorite thrift store find

26feb200803.jpg

the girls’ dresser

26feb200804.jpg

mmmmm…..

26feb200805.jpg

new plants for the living room (jasmine, too!)

26feb200806.jpg

So, I guess that’s about it for today. We’ve got parent-teacher conferences after school today, so I’m gonna try and get as much work done as possible before I have to go. πŸ™‚ I hope everyone is having a tubular Tuesday! πŸ˜‰ Ciao, all!

