I simply have two many plates spinning at once.

  • my new site to finish, have built
  • songbird avenue 1 year anniversary
  • songbird site revamp
  • may songbird kit
  • 1 collab kit
  • comb my hair

And most of this has to be done yesterday. Ugh. Still, I’m trying to keep my head on straight and tackle one thing at a time. That’s all we can do right?

Remember yesterday how I said that my kids enjoy their lunches? They do. But, unfortunately, yesterday Lara was teased to the point of tears because of her Caprese salad. I have no idea what is so disgusting to her schoolmates about cheese, tomatoes and basil…but apparently the others were calling her “gross”, “nasty” and “weird”.

😦

So, Lara and I had a big, long talk about what she wants and how she thinks she should handle the situation. I managed to have a bit of progress. At first the conversation sounded like this:

“Can you just make me Caprese salad when I don’t sit next to ______ and ______ in the lunchroom? Because they tease me and it hurts me.”

Then by the end of the evening it was:

“If they say it’s gross, I’ll tell them to be quiet because they have never tasted it and I think it’s delicious. And then I will eat it all up.”

This was QUITE a leap. πŸ™‚ Because when I picked her up yesterday afternoon, she hadn’t eaten 2/3 of her lunch because of the situation and she was ravenous when we got home. So, this morning, I asked her what she wanted for lunch and I made it all to order.

1 Caprese salad, comin’ right up!

She had so much more confidence this morning and I am really hoping her lunch hour went well. It’s so hard to convey to these kids a sense of independence and originality. Kids can be so cruel sometimes and it seems that these days it’s easier to conform than to stand out. I just talked to her about doing what she wants to do and trying to talk to her about how real friends treat each other. I know these kiddos are only 6, but I really think they should start recognizing how people treat them and how they should treat others and that if someone says they are your “friend” then they should make you feel good, not bad.

UGH. I know I sound like such a softy right now, but this is just one of those things that gets me right here. I cannot stand it when children are bullied. And I don’t want my kidlets to suffer because of anyone else’s unhappiness.

So, BOO! on bullies! πŸ™‚

And besides….my kiddos have grape trees for lunch. So, there. πŸ˜›

πŸ™‚ Happy Friday, everyone!

