St. Albans was a place we’d been wanting to see for a couple of weeks. We really wanted to see the Verulamium. I didn’t get photos of it of course. However I did get some other pictures.

We started our day off at the Verulamium and watched a lecture (in costume) all about the Roman Legionnaires. It was really neat and we learned a lot. The kids were kind of bored and Noodle kept yelling, so I took Noodle around the museum while the lecture was wrapping up. I don’t think even the Noodle’s cuteness could stop a short sword.

After the museum, we walked up a path until we got to a small lake/very large pond. There were swans and ducks and geese and lots of people enjoying the afternoon.

Of course I didn’t take a photo of the lake. I took one just after we had passed it. ๐Ÿ™‚ So, we kept on walking and then we came upon a pub.

Colin, I’m afraid, is still upset with me because I didn’t want to eat here. Namely because most of the menu items were unimaginable. (Meaning I had no idea what it was). Like…Lancastershire hotpot with bubble and squeak. Does that sound good to you? Well, all the stuff on the menu sounded that way, so I nixed it. Come to find out, a Lancastershire (pronounced sorta like Lan-cu-sherr) hotpot is just a stew. And bubble and squeak is mashed potatoes with either boiled Brussels sprouts or cabbage mixed in and then baked in a pan. Ok, so it still doesn’t sound very appealing to me, but Colin was upset because it could have been edible and it was supposed to be traditional pub food and I rained on his parade. So, I am going to have to make it up to him by going to a pub. Of course, it won’t ever be the same because that pub won’t be called “YE OLDE FIGHTING COCKS”. (which is the whole reason I think he wanted to eat there in the first place.)

After that, we walked up the hill to head into the downtown area. The girls are at this really cute, snuggly, posing phase right now and I try to capture it as much as possible.

This is the Cathedral and Abbey Church of St. Albans.

Then we walked into St. Albans itself to find the Clock Tower. Of course I didn’t take a photo of it. However here’s the view from the top. If you can imagine that our heads aren’t in the way, you can see what the town looks like. Can you picture it? ๐Ÿ™‚

This is coming down….the steps were so narrow.

Then we made our way back to the parking lot by the Verulamium and we took in one last site. There is a preservation site where they have built a building over a Roman mosaic. We got there just in the nick of time and the lady let us in before she locked the door. It was in such incredible condition. It was about 30 x 30 feet, I’d guess.

After that we started heading back to the car. We grabbed a frosty treat for our walk back past the lake and Noodle, by far, had the most fun with it.

So that was about it. That was our day in St. Albans. Hope you enjoyed the tour! ๐Ÿ™‚

