Our neighbor from Germany came for a visit with her son. Our kiddos were playmates for most of the time we lived in Germany and I introduced her to paper scrapbooking. Her husband can now solidly count himself among the ranks of men who have lost their wives to a cardstock textured delirium resulting in the licking of paper and hoarding of ribbons and reclaimed junk drawer goodness. šŸ™‚

I lent Anne my camera while we went to Burghley House for the ambitiously named “Jazz Fest”. When I think of a music fest (any kind), I think of lots of different performers…various styles…a good sound system…and a crowd… What I don’t imagine is 3 ancient English chaps trying desperately to squeeze a mix of jazz and Dixie Land out of their poor little lungs to a crowd no larger than 5. It was sweet having background music playing while we toured the Sculpture Garden, but it was hardly a fest. At one point I was sure that oxygen tanks were going to wheeled out by prim little nurses after one of the songs. They took many well-deserved 20 minute breaks and I was happy for them. They looked plum tuckered, folks. šŸ™‚

So, without further ado, Anne’s photos.

Burghley House

3 very excited kiddos.

So sweet!

Total goofballs!

My silly Mia. šŸ™‚

Lara anted to take a photo of Anne and Linus, so we graciously obliged. Turned out pretty darling.

Walking through the sculpture garden. No idea what’s up with Mia’s face. šŸ™‚ Lovin

Lara’s pose!

More of the sculpture garden.

A sweet one of Lara.

Love this one!

And then there were 30…

This was the coolest part of the day. The kids just LOVED this. And who can blame them?

Mia said their lips were soft like a bunny. šŸ™‚

And one last one of Mia.

We then proceeded to Market Deeping to go to Linford’s traditional fish & chip shop. It’s rated as one of the top 10 in England (#1 in East England!) and we were not disappointed. Holy beans. I’m not a big fast food fan, but I love this stuff. We had our choice of cod, haddock or plaice and I can say, without a doubt, that haddock is my favorite. Not as “fish stick-y” as the other ones.

And while Anne was here we had scones, clotted cream, and jam. Now I knew what clotted cream was. I’ve even bought it before, but I never cracked it open and ended up sending it home with a friend during his visit so he could give it to his mother. I know the English love this stuff, but I just had no idea how to eat it. Well, apparently you eat it on scones with jam on top, preferably strawberry.So we had that while anne was here and I fell in love. I don’t know how I can live without this stuff. I think I am going to have to see if I can make it myself. Who knows…it may be doable. And next time we have it, I’ll be sure to take a pic. šŸ™‚

Anne’s visit was far too short, but we managed to squeeze in some good times. šŸ™‚ Ciao, all!

